Social Donations & Benevolent Marketing: Your Friends With Benefits

Today, we broach a subject that my Mother and I don’t quite see eye-to-eye on: benevolent marketing. In my community of friends and neighbors, I invariably find folks asking for donations for a benefit – usually cancer. And I can’t sympathize enough with folks going through that, having known my fair share of folks afflicted (some still with us, and some not, God rest their souls.) I usually choose to offer something for the silent auction/raffle, in an effort to help out, but also – yes – gain something from it. I’m pretty sure my Mom is disowning me right about now.

I usually give some signed copies of my book, with a line in there thanking them for being awesome and helping out a good cause. This does two things: it helps the cause, and it gets my name out there.

You can try variations on this – perhaps pin a card to the item, etc.

Or, you can be a better person than I, and donate without any strings – and probably become my Mom’s new favorite person. The important thing is that you give back to your community when you can. You never know when you might be the one in need.

~ by digitalninjasmedia on October 8, 2011.

 
