Make Your Mail Scream, “Pick Me! Pick Me!”

Make your mail something unique. Often, I see mentioned the trick of using a lot of one cent stamps. And to that, I say, “Meh. Not good enough.”

Sure, it might be interesting: but not interesting enough. Here’s a different approach:

When I was a kid, I used to send away to baseball players for their autographs. Before I did, though, I hand wrote a thoughtful letter thanking them for being awesome. Then, I spent as many as four hours turning the plain, white, #10 envelope into a 360º work of full-color art.

And you know what? All but TWO came back, in all the years I did this (bite me, Walt Weiss.) In fact, I got some that other individuals had let me know were real toughies to get through the mail. Further, I got them FAST. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that in a sea of white, the pains-taking work of art will get noticed first.

So, back to the real world, where I’m all grown up now. When I began Digital Ninjas Media, I had one thought in the first week that stuck with me: I was going to do this again. So, I got on line, and looked for solid BLACK #10 envelopes. And you know what? I found them. They’re .30 cents a piece – but I found them. And I bought them.

Want to really make your cold-correspondence something potentially Deify-able? Find a local artist who’s work is impressive, and ask to purchase the rights to a work. Take it to a printing house who can do custom envelopes and have it made into said-same. Imagine if you opened your mailbox, and found something visually stunning in amongst the day-to-day postal flotsam?

So try it for yourself! Happy Mailing!

~ by digitalninjasmedia on October 16, 2011.

 
