Hear Ye, Hear Ye: I Have A Business, And I’m Keen!

The Salvation Army bell ringer: You’ve all seen them before and, hopefully, put a few doubloons into their ubiquitous red pails. If not, then I’m totally sticking my tongue out at you right now. These intrepid souls brave the cold, irritating repetition of high-pitched dinging and, sometimes, outright scorn – and for what? Because they want to help individuals that they will never meet, who are less fortunate then they themselves are. It doesn’t get much more benevolent than that, and it can be a humbling experience, as well as an exercise in personal appreciation of one’s own life. Trust me: if you’re reading this, then you don’t have it that bad.

So now we come to you: Have you ever done this? I personally have not. My wife and I support a local food pantry monetarily – and she with volunteering two Monday evenings a week as well, because she’s a heck of a lot nicer than I am. She also helps the homeless and less fortunate with preparing for job interviews, résumés and work attire, because she didn’t feel like she was doing enough. Can you tell that I’m proud of her?

All right – I digress: But she really is amazing.

Now for those of you who play no active role in giving to causes, or cannot due to financial constraints, then what better way to do something than to volunteer your time as a bell ringer? Your time has value, and it won’t put a strain on your pocketbook. It’s still giving, and it still totally counts.

“That’s great, Heath. But what in the whoosa-fudge does this have to do with marketing?”

I’m getting there, I promise. Ready? What if you were to wear your corporate shirt/jacket/hat/mittens/button/other while doing so? Here is an opportunity to be seen as a righteous dude (or dude-ette, depending on the plumbing God gave you), and also to get thousands of new eyeballs on your company logo. You’re helping out a good cause, you’re getting your business noticed, and you may even feel all warm and fuzzy inside. And while that could be from that Irished-up coffee you drank before hand, I’ll just pretend that it’s really because doing nice things makes you feel that way.

So go forth, ring the annoying little bell, collect some cash-ola for the less fortunate, and get your business noticed while you’re at it. It’s a win-win!

~ by digitalninjasmedia on November 18, 2011.

 
