Education Still Pays

Educate your potential customers to turn them into actual customers.

How? I’m ever so pleased that you inquired! Let’s say that what you offer is confusing, seems simple on the surface, or is just plain boring. I mean – let’s face it – most products are not as exciting as a Nintendo, a crossbow, or a trampoline. It’s just a fact. So making your product or service look sexy can be a daunting task.

But it can be done. The first thing you need to consider is what your product or service does, features or offers that your clients would normally have no idea about. Let’s take something mundane, and yet popular: Scented Candles. And – a disclaimer here – I’m not belittling the plethoric world of these things – I know pretty much nothing about them. I just needed an example.

Scented candles seem to be a product that people either think are flippin’ amazing, or – like me – are more forgettable than a seventh Rocky movie. So I’m a good choice to try and market to, because I truly believe I have zero need for these things. What I actually do know is this:

I know how to light one. I know sometimes they smell like something I want to eat. I know that they burn.

And there you have it. So, marketing to me would require you to convince me, on some other level, that I can’t live without these things. Here’s a list of my personal button issues that might sway me:

If they removed allergens, somehow. If they created a pervasive – and non-localized – smell. If they were made in a green way. If their sale helped a cause I was passionate about. That’s about all I can think of that would make me reconsider these things. The biggest reasons would be #1 & #2. If they did that, I might now be a buyer.

But, had I not just told you all of this, you would never know. So, your journey starts with research. Finding out why folks buy them from you is a no-brainer. Finding folks who are indifferent to them and inquiring WHY they could give two figs about them will help you tailor your marketing to a different crowd and, possibly, make a sale when you prove that one of their hesitations is falsely realized.

And it’s difficult work. But – if you take the time to glean this information – you can now sell to a whole new market via education (remember education – the topic of this post?) Present everyone who will listen with educational facts, packaged in short, succinct bursts. And when you run out, feel free to go cyclical with it. Perhaps you could also develop a list of perceived falsehoods about the product. “No, they will not make you sterile, get you laid, or cause blindness in wombats – those are all myths!”

Whatever your product might be, educating your consumers – especially the potential ones – is a great way to turn a negative into a positive. But you MUST take the time to get inside the heads of your non-customers to do this to its most effective end.

Good luck!

~ by digitalninjasmedia on November 30, 2011.

 
