Build Your Own Marketing Kingdom

As we’ve developed our business, lo these eight weeks now, I’ve noticed numerous trends in the mercantile community. One I began to see was that many of the businesses whose ear I had bent successfully were reliant on well-advertised and hosted fairs, shows, etc. to market and sell their wares.

So, I started paying attention. Specifically to who these individuals were, what they were selling, and where they were selling it. Over the past week, an idea began to form. I thought, “Why can’t Digital Ninjas Media sponsor an event like this?” The answer was: there’s no reason that we can’t.

A second question then bubbled to the surface, “Okay – why would we WANT to?” This one required a far less glib answer. On one hand, I considered the fact that we could charge the obligatory ‘entry fee’ for the vendors. Sometimes, an entry fee is also required at the door.

Here’s the thing, though: I didn’t want to charge the vendors a fee. And I >REALLY< didn’t want to charge the potential customers a fee.

Then how to ‘sponsor’ the event? If I was going to do this, I had to get SOMETHING out of it. Preferably free positive advertising, and at least breaking even.

Why am I sharing this with you? Because the more I considered the whole fair/vendor concept, the more I realized that it’s a CRUCIAL piece of supporting local business. And it’s something that you could be a part of, as an event sponsor – using some, all, or none of the following ideas. Here’s a few that I came up with:

Potential Benefit #1:
Allow vendors who are participating in your circles (i.e. – ‘Likers’, ‘Followers’, ‘Subscribers’) first crack, and the best spots. If you market the even correctly, you could stipulate that ONLY these folks could participate. Guess how much your following will grow?

Potential Benefit #2:
Allow anyone who asks to participate, so long as there are no conflicts in vendors (i.e. – only one Scentsy, Pampered Chef, etc.). Still allow your throng first crack – you owe them that much. Don’t charge to enter the show, nor to exhibit. BUT – ask for a percentage of profits earned. This requires an honor system, but it also shows how kind and trusting you can be. Someone will most likely take advantage of this – expect it. But that’s not your primary concern, here. Marketing is. Making a few bucks is secondary.

Potential Benefit #3:
Name the show/fair in a way that ties back to your business. This, I admit, could be tough – or down-right impossible. BUT – if it can be done – all the publicity for the event will have your name IN it. And this is a great marketing coup.

Potential Benefit #4:
Your throng aren’t hermit island dwellers. They have friends, relatives, and business contacts. And word of this insane plan will get out, sooner or later. Your plan. You’re the guy (or gal) who made this crazy thing happen. This will cause immediate – and continuing – exposure for you, and your business enterprise, ideally resulting in new clients, or new throng members who you may now court as potential clients.

I don’t know – this might all be insane. But somehow, I’m going to find a way to make this work and do it. I don’t know when, and I don’t know how, but it’s a thought experiment that I find I just cannot walk away from.

Feedback on this would be genuinely appreciated – anything you have to offer is valuable because I know ZERO about doing this sort of thing. What do you think?

~ by digitalninjasmedia on December 3, 2011.

 
