Inflatable Gorillas, The ‘Wacky Waving Inflatable Arm Flailing Tube Man’, And You

For decades, these insane gimmicks have found themselves outside of, or on top of, business establishments as ‘attention getters’. Why? If you know what I’m talking about, then they work: And >that’s< why. Often, businesses will add them to their exterior landscape as a means of letting the public know that something outside of ordinary business is occurring. Usually the event is a sale, blowout, markdown, going out of business, clearance, etc.

And, as marketing tools, they do work. I know that – personally – I find the tube men almost hypnotic. They always manage to get my attention: not because I love sales, but because I love the elegant pneumatic mechanics of the things. I’m a nerd – I know.

So, you probably now find yourself saying, “Gorilla Marketing – ha ha, Heath – real funny, tongue in cheek, and all that. Big deal – what’s so great about this idea?”

Here’s what’s great about it: I’m about to inject a dose of my Patented Insanity *(illegal in Tennessee!) into it. Ready?

What if you got one of the Gorillas and, throughout the course of the day, had a person in a banana suit running to and fro in front of the thing? Or a guy in a Mario outfit running below, with a girl in a princess outfit on the roof above? (And if you don’t get the reference, then just move on: you’re probably good at sports.)

What if you got a pair of the tube men, and put them face to face, in a mocked up boxing ring?

Or, you could get both, and make the tube man appear to ‘come out’ of the Gorilla’s butt.

That’s right: I went there.

Whatever you do, consider that it’s been done before. So what are you going to do about that? Find an inexpensive way to unique-ify the thing, that’s what! Make it something different, insane, and memorable. And not only will folks pay attention, they’ll most likely photograph the thing, and share it. Imagine: Your business in a viral photo marketing campaign that you didn’t even know was happening.

I told you I wouldn’t leave you hanging on this one!

~ by digitalninjasmedia on December 16, 2011.

 
