‘Lawyer’ Is NOT A Four-Letter Word

Let’s be honest: most of us see lawyers in a negative light: money-sucking fiends who want nothing more than to sue the pants off of someone, and then vie for their skin and hair as well. I’ll be honest: when I was younger, I had a disdain and fear of lawyers.

Apparently, some karmic re-alignment was in order, when my wife received her Paralegal Certification, and my brother – inexplicably – chose to become one. And, while my notions of others were easy to cement, having never actually known them, these two occurrences gave me pause because – well – I knew the offending parties, and they were pretty keen.

Over the ensuing (no pun intended but…) months and years, I have been privileged to meet and get to know several attorneys. Some were, in fact, stereotypical. Most, however, were hard-working, genial folks who were genuinely concerned with the well being of – yes, themselves – but, also, their clients. Since that time, I no longer see them in a negative light. In fact, truth be told, I now see them as a powerful asset to keeping me from meeting others of their kind, who want some of my money, because I have done something stupid.

You and, conjunctively, your business, should seriously consider retaining one. As stated above, it’s a good idea to ask for referrals, interview, and get comfortable with the purveyor of legal services. You might be shocked to know this but, in fact, all lawyers are not alike. World changing, I know.

First, and foremost, make certain that the lawyer you choose specializes in the fields that you require. If you need patent law, then an attorney who specializes in divorces probably isn’t the best choice. That isn’t to say that they aren’t capable of assisting you – they probably are. But, like the aforementioned tax law, the law-law is even more unwieldy, confusing, and counter-intuitive at times. It is often said that ‘ignorance of the law is no excuse’. Cover your ears, if you don’t like swearing, because I totally call ‘bullshit’ on that one. I don’t think there’s a human alive that has – or can – absorb the law. It is, in fact, a physical impossibility (okay, there might be some savant in the Ural Mountains or something who can – I can’t know everything.) The law is so voluminous, counter-manding, and unwieldy that even lawyers – though they may never tell you so – have a tough time keeping up with its twists, turns, pitfalls and, to a lesser degree, loopholes. They seem good ad finding those.

Why does your business even need a lawyer? Consider all of the opportunities your business provides for someone to sue, and you’ll begin to get a clear picture. If there seems no need for one, and incorporation and establishment of your business are complete, then perhaps you really don’t need one. However, for those of you creating a product, or offering a service that can possibly do bodily harm (even shampoo burns, in case you’ve forgotten), then a good attorney should be on speed dial – and retainer.

~ by digitalninjasmedia on April 3, 2012.

 
